Cork to Dublin

Brandon Bethke Running in IrelandAs I sit here on a bus traveling from Cork to Dublin I decided to take some time reflect on the week that has gone by since I left the States.  Arriving last Thursday into Ireland brought a whole new experience for me, as I have never been to Europe.  A warm welcome of a week-long experience of crisp air, fresh food, green countryside, ancient relics and great hospitality have helped me adjust to the time change.

Since the race last Saturday in Cork I have enjoyed home cooked meals and the experience of living in the Irish countryside.  Ciaran O’Lionaird and his family opened up their home for Jordan McNamara and I to stay in until we all headed up to Dublin for the Morton Mile tomorrow.  It has been nice to live with some locals and experience what it is like to live in Ireland.  We ran through golf courses, castles, bridges and buildings all rich in history while enjoying, or surviving, the ever-changing weather.  It would be sunny and 70 degrees one minute then it would turn into 20 mph winds and rain the next.  The last night of our stay in Cork was memorable in that I was able to enjoy my first pint of real Guiness in a proper Irish pub, and yes it is unbelievably better than any Guiness I have had in the states.  It was the perfect end to a great stay.

Looking out over the Irish countryside makes me think back to the history lessons I ignored back in high school.  I have been reminded of the rich history and turmoil that has surrounded this country in the past.  One of our journeys this past week took us to a church that was built in 6th century.  The picture listed above had a special impact on me as I noticed what it said, “Here stood in the 6th Century the cell of Saint Finbarr the First Bishop of Cork.”  I realized that there were men over 1400 years ago that fought for their beliefs on this exact piece of land.  Coming to this conclusion has given me an appreciation for the zeal of the men that came before me and the faith that we share, it makes me remember what we can be capable of if we focus on the right things.

It took a step of faith 6 weeks ago to purchase my flight to Europe without knowing how I would afford the trip or where I would be racing.  I knew that God had a plan although I did not know how it would happen.  Still, not everything is figured out, but it is starting to come together.  One thing I have learned and experienced the last few weeks is that God will provide, but it’s not always in the way you expect.  The uncertainty of what’s ahead is troublesome at times and the provision thus far reminds me this is where I am supposed to be.  One of my good friends once told me that I view my life and faith as a journey, and I couldn’t agree with him more.  So I’m going to keep writing, you stay tuned, and one thing is for sure…it’s going to be a memorable trip.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cork to Dublin

  1. Dennis Bock says:

    Jordan,
    SO good to read your blog! God is at work in you, my friend!! Race hard and keep the faith…

    Your long time friend,
    Mr. Bock

  2. Jared K says:

    You’re like a modern day Eric Liddel. You believe God made you for a purpose, but he also made you fast and when you run you feel his pleasure.

Leave a comment